The Star Wars Episode Title Formula


Disney Dropped Star Wars Episode Numbers
With the news that Episode VIII already has its title, many people are trying to make up a title for the movie and trying to crack the Star Wars title formula. But this formula is very easy to figure out if you’re a Star Wars fan who pays attention.

The first movie in a trilogy has a three-word title that’s descriptive. It can describe a person or something that happens, and it can have more than one meaning.

Episode I: The Phantom Menace
Describes Palpatine as he’s manipulating everything from the shadows.

Episode IV: A New Hope
Describing Luke, of course.

Episode VII: The Force Awakens
Describing Rey and the rekindling of the Force that she represents.

The second movie of the trilogy is a four-word title and is a direct action that happens in the move.

Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
Pretty self explanatory, the Empire strikes back at the Rebellion following the Battle of Yavin.

Episode II: Attack of the Clones

If you can’t figure this one out, I give up.

Finally the third movie has a four-word title that is an action to close out the trilogy and fulfills what the first movie in the trilogy began.

Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

Luke fulfills his role of A New Hope to bring the Jedi back and balance to the Force.

Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Palpatine’s machinations from the beginning are successful and the Sith at last have their revenge they craved in Episode I.

When you understand how Star Wars Episode titles are constructed, it makes it easy to spot really bogus ones people try to pass off as leaked titles.